Event: What Future for Authors in Copyright?

Judges in Conversation Series

6 September 2017

The Hon. Justice David Yates (Federal Court of Australia) will be in conversation with Professor Jane Ginsburg (Morton L. Janklow Professor of Literary and Artistic Property Law at Columbia University)

Event Details

Date: Tuesday 17 October 2017

Time: 6.00pm - 7.00pm

Federal Court of Australia
Court 8A
Level 8
305 William Street

Enquiries: 03 9035 1111

Bookings are essential for this free public lecture. Register at law.unimelb.edu.au/events

The Hon. Justice David Yates

Justice Yates graduated in law from the Sydney Law School in 1977. In that year, he undertook his practical legal training at theCollege of Law, St Leonards and commenced practice as a solicitor with Sly & Russell in Sydney.

He was appointed as an Associate Partner in 1980. In 1982, he was called to the New South Wales Bar, where he practised primarily in the areas of intellectual property law and competition law.

He was appointed Senior Counsel in 1997. He was appointed to the Federal Court of Australia in 2009 and is located in the New South Wales District Registry of the Court.

In 2016, he was appointed as a Deputy President of the Australian Competition Tribunal.

Professor Jane Ginsburg

Jane C. Ginsburg is the Morton L. Janklow Professor of Literary and Artistic Property Law at Columbia University School of Law, and Faculty Director of its Kernochan Center for Law, Media and the Arts. She teaches Legal Methods, Copyright Law, International Copyright Law, and Trademarks Law, and is the author or co-author of casebooks in all four subjects, as well as of many articles and book chapters on domestic and international copyright and trademark law. A graduate of the University of Chicago (BA 1976, MA 1977), Professor Ginsburg received a JD in 1980 from Harvard, where she was an editor of the Law Review, and a Diplôme d'études approfondies in 1985 and a Doctorate of Law in 1995 from the University of Paris II. She is a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy, a Member of the American Philosophical Society, a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and an Honorary Fellow of Emmanuel College, University of Cambridge.