User Groups

The Court uses a number of mechanisms to liaise and consult with members of the legal profession and others about its work.

It is envisaged that user groups will be established for each National Practice Area (NPA) and possibly for certain sub-areas, as well as class actions (which covers more than one NPA).

The aim of the user groups will be to provide a forum for Court representatives and the legal profession to discuss existing and emerging issues, provide feedback to the Court and act as a reference group for that NPA. Further information regarding the user groups will be provided when available.

Where significant changes in procedure or rules are proposed, the Court will generally hold information seminars in addition to the usual forms of consultation.


Employment and Industrial Relations NPA User Group 

The Employment & Industrial Relations National Practice Area has a User Group. The Group consists of the NPA Coordinating Judges, Judge McNab of the Federal Circuit Court and representatives from the legal profession who practice in the NPA.

Meetings are convened on a regular basis and are in addition to one or more formal events organised by the Court in relation to issues relating to the NPA. The aim of the User Group is to provide a forum for Court representatives and the legal profession to discuss existing and emerging issues, provide feedback to the Court, assist in arranging professional development events and act as a reference group for the NPA. The current members of the User Group and their contact details are provided below. They can be contacted by the wider profession to seek information about the work of the User Group or to raise issues for consideration by the User Group.

Current members of the User Group from the legal profession:

Craig Dowling SC
Barrister
Email: craigdowling@vicbar.com.au

Veronica Belot
Solicitor, Kelly Hazell Quill Lawyers
Email: vbelot@khq.com.au

Chris Murdoch QC
Barrister
Email: cmurdoch@qldbar.asn.au

Giri Sivaraman
Principal, Maurice Blackburn Lawyers
Email: gsivaraman@mauriceblackburn.com.au

Yaseen Sharriff
Barrister
Email: Yshariff@12thfloor.com.au

Nathan Keats
Principal, McNally Jones Staff
Email: nathan@mcnally.com.au 

Simon Blewett
Barrister
Email: blewett@selbystreet.com.au